What ghee brands claim
September 2026
Only 11 of 38 ghee packs we checked name the breed of the animal, and 17 give no specific method at all. 15 say they are made from curd or by Bilona, 3 say cream, and 20 do not say what the ghee is made from.
These are the 38 packs from 25 brands in our Ghee Price Index. We read what each brand says about its own ghee, on its shop page or its full BigBasket description, on 25 and 26 September 2026. We did not test the jars, and we do not judge the claims. We make ghee too, so our two jars are in the table, counted by the same rules.
11 of 38
packs name the breed (29%)
17 of 38
packs give no specific method (45%)
15 of 38
packs say curd or Bilona (39%)
9 of 38
packs have "A2" in the name (24%)
What the 38 packs say
Most packs say which animal the milk came from. Far fewer say how the ghee is made, or name the breed. A phrase like "traditional methods" does not count as a method here, because it does not say curd, cream, or how the ghee is cooked.
Each brand's shop page or full BigBasket description, 25 and 26 September 2026.
| Item | Value |
|---|---|
| Say cow or buffalo | 34 packs |
| State a specific method | 21 packs |
| Say what it is made from (curd or cream) | 18 packs |
| Name the breed | 11 packs |
| Have "A2" in the product name | 9 packs |
Do the claims match the price?
The prices follow the claims. Packs that say curd or Bilona cost a median ₹1,999 a litre, against ₹711 for every other pack, about 2.8 times as much. That fits the work: curd ghee takes far more milk per kilo. It is also why a pack that says Bilona at a dairy-tin price is worth a closer look. Our purity checker walks you through one.
Pack by pack
Grouped as in the price index. "Method" is quoted or summarised from the brand's own words.
| Brand and product | Breed | A2 in name | Made from | Method, in the brand's words | Per litre |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Cow ghee sold as curd / Bilona | |||||
| Two Brothers Organic Farms Desi Gir Cow Cultured Ghee (glass) · Brand's own shop | Gir | – | Curd / Bilona | Bilona, cultured | ₹3,595 |
| Himalayan Natives A2 Gir Cow Bilona Ghee · Brand's own shop | Gir | Yes | Curd / Bilona | Curd, hand-churned, wood fire | ₹3,236 |
| GirOrganic A2 Gir Cow Ghee · Brand's own shop | Gir | Yes | Curd / Bilona | Curd, wooden-churned, cooked on wood fire | ₹2,879 |
| Gavyamart A2 Gir Cow Ghee · Brand's own shop | Gir | Yes | Curd / Bilona | Bilona, earthen pots | ₹2,499 |
| Authentic Urbanours A2 Gir Cow Bilona Ghee · Brand's own shop | Gir | Yes | Curd / Bilona | Curd, hand-churned, cooked on a wood chulha | ₹2,399 |
| Rosier Foods Gir Cow A2 Ghee · Brand's own shop | Gir | Yes | Curd / Bilona | From curd, Bilona | ₹2,380 |
| Anveshan A2 Desi Cow Ghee · Brand's own shop | Gir | Yes | Curd / Bilona | Bilona-churned | ₹2,200 |
| Nuclear Farm Desi Cow Ghee · Brand's own shop | – | – | Curd / Bilona | Curd, hand-churned, slow-cooked | ₹1,999 |
| Barosi A2 Desi Cow Ghee · Brand's own shop | Sahiwal | Yes | Curd / Bilona | Curd, Bilona, slow-cooked | ₹1,652 |
| Cow ghee without a curd / Bilona claim | |||||
| Mother Dairy Premium Gir Cow Ghee · BigBasket | Gir | – | Not said | Not stated | ₹1,651 |
| Amul Gir Cow Ghee · Brand's own shop | Gir | – | Not said | Not stated | ₹1,400 |
| Barosi Cow Ghee · Brand's own shop | – | – | Not said | Churned butter, slow-cooked; no curd claim | ₹1,033 |
| Aashirvaad Svasti Cow Ghee (PET jar) · BigBasket | – | – | Not said | Slow-cooked for about 3.5 hours ("SloCook") | ₹990 |
| Patanjali Cow's Ghee · Brand's own shop | – | – | Not said | Not stated | ₹810 |
| Sri Sri Tattva Cow's Ghee · BigBasket | – | – | Not said | Not stated | ₹804 |
| Verka Cow Milk Fat Ghee (carton) · BigBasket | – | – | Not said | Not stated | ₹720 |
| Gowardhan Pure Cow Ghee · BigBasket | – | – | Not said | Not specific: "untouched by hand" | ₹711 |
| Amul Cow Ghee · Brand's own shop | – | – | Not said | Not stated | ₹705 |
| Heritage Cow Ghee (pouch) · BigBasket | – | – | Not said | Not specific: "traditional methods" | ₹691 |
| Verka Ghee (carton) · BigBasket | – | – | Not said | Slow-cooked ("traditional slow-cooking process") | ₹651 |
| Vijaya Pure Ghee (pouch) · BigBasket | – | – | Not said | Not specific: "time-honoured processing method" | ₹640 |
| Mother Dairy Pure Cow Ghee (pouch) · BigBasket | – | – | Not said | Not stated | ₹616 |
| Buffalo ghee sold as curd / Bilona | |||||
| Authentic Urbanours Jafarabadi Buffalo Bilona Ghee · Brand's own shop | Jafarabadi | – | Curd / Bilona | Curd, hand-churned, cooked on a wood chulha | ₹1,999 |
| Two Brothers Organic Farms Buffalo Ghee (glass) · Brand's own shop | – | – | Curd / Bilona | Curd, churned into makkhan, slow-cooked | ₹1,990 |
| Nuclear Farm Buffalo Ghee · Brand's own shop | – | – | Curd / Bilona | Curd, churned, slow-cooked | ₹1,799 |
| Anveshan Bilona-Churned Desi Buffalo Ghee · Brand's own shop | – | – | Curd / Bilona | Cultured curd, Bilona-churned | ₹1,521 |
| Hitkram A2 Buffalo Desi Bilona Ghee · Brand's own shop | – | Yes | Curd / Bilona | Bilona, cultured | ₹1,448 |
| Barosi A2 Buffalo Ghee · Brand's own shop | – | Yes | Curd / Bilona | Curd, Bilona, slow-cooked | ₹1,279 |
| Buffalo ghee without a curd / Bilona claim | |||||
| Parsi Dairy Farm Natural Buffalo Ghee (jar) · BigBasket | – | – | Cream | From cream, by a manual technique | ₹1,744 |
| Godrej Jersey Buffalo Ghee (jar) · BigBasket | – | – | Not said | Not stated | ₹783 |
| Heritage Buffalo Ghee, Special Grade (pouch) · BigBasket | – | – | Not said | Not stated | ₹758 |
| Dinshaws Buffalo Ghee (refill carton) · BigBasket | – | – | Cream | From full cream churned into butter, ripened for days | ₹706 |
| Amul Buffalo Ghee (tin) · Brand's own shop | – | – | Not said | Not stated | ₹680 |
| Patanjali Buffalo Milk Desi Ghee (carton) · BigBasket | – | – | Not said | Not specific: "traditional and modern methods" | ₹645 |
| Ghee that does not name the animal | |||||
| Chitale Dairy Pure Buffalo Ghee (carton) · BigBasket | – | – | Not said | Not stated | ₹746 |
| Nandini Pure Ghee (pouch) · BigBasket | – | – | Cream | From fresh cream | ₹696 |
| Amul Pure Ghee · Brand's own shop | – | – | Not said | Not stated | ₹660 |
| Saras Ghee · BigBasket | – | – | Not said | Not stated | ₹545 |
What each claim means, and how to check it
Cow or buffalo
Which animal the milk came from. "Pure ghee" or "desi ghee" alone does not say.
Read the front of the pack. If it only says pure ghee, ask.
A breed, like Gir
The milk came from that breed of cow or buffalo.
Ask where the animals are and whether you can visit.
A2
Milk from cows whose milk has the A2 type of beta-casein protein, in India usually desi breeds like Gir.
You cannot test it at home. Ask the brand how they check it.
Curd or Bilona
Milk set to curd, the curd churned into butter, the butter cooked into ghee.
It takes far more milk per kilo, so the price should show it.
Cream
Cream separated from the milk, then cooked, or churned into butter first.
A normal method. It is simply not Bilona.
"Traditional methods"
Nothing specific. It does not say curd, cream, or how it is cooked.
Ask the brand what the traditional method is.
How we counted
- The packs are the 38 in the September 2026 Ghee Price Index. We read the brand's own shop page, or for brands that do not sell there, the full BigBasket product description, not only the listing title.
- A claim counts only when the brand makes it. A breed counts only when it is named. "A2" counts when it is in the product name.
- Vague phrases ("traditional methods", "time-honoured process", "untouched by hand") are shown in grey and counted as no specific method.
- This report records claims. It does not test the jars, and a claim here is not proof. The jar's own label can say more or less than the shop page.
- The data is in the price index CSV, one row per pack, with a column for each claim. Free to reuse under CC BY 4.0 with a link to this page. Corrections on WhatsApp: +91 63544 69779.
Questions about ghee claims
Our claims, and how to check them
Gir cow and Jafarabadi buffalo, milk set to curd, churned, cooked on a wood chulha. Come and watch, or get the video of your own jar.